Welcome to CIDAG

Welcome to CIDAG, International Conference on Design and Graphic Arts, organized by ISEC Lisboa and IPT. The 6th CIDAG will be held online, from 20 to 22 October 2021. We look forward to your participation! If the pandemic situation evolves in a positive direction and sanitary conditions allow it, the conference will take place in person, in Portugal.

The Organizing Committee.

Invited Speakers
Warren Beeby

Warren’s spent the past 20 years connecting people to some of the world’s leading brands, and winning the odd award here and there too. Now, he’s pushing the visual language of sustainability, making it as inspirational and seductive as it deserves to be, as Chief Creative Officer for Futerra. Futerra is a Creative Agency that works with people who believe they can turn the sustainability imperative into the greatest entrepreneurial opportunity for a generation. Together with their clients, they are building brands that are symbols of positive change. They are unleashing progress that has purpose.

Rui Marcelino

Rui Marcelino holds a Bachelor’s degree in Mechanical Engineering from Instituto Superior Técnico de Lisboa (IST), a Master’s degree in Transport Design from Scuola Politecnica di Design in Milan, and a PhD in Design from the Faculty of Architecture of Technical University of Lisbon (FAUTL). Marcelino teaches Design Project in the Master’s degree in Product Design at the Faculty of Architecture of the University of Lisbon and is the Coordinator of that same course. Professionally, after a stint at Centro Stile Alfa Romeo, he founded Almadesign in 1997, which is dedicated to Transports, Product and Interiors Design. With Almadesign, Marcelino received the National Design Award in 1999 and 2009, the Good Design Award in 2009, 2013 and 2015, an honourable mention in the DME Awards 2009, the Green Good Design Award 2010, the Crystal Cabin Award 2012, the Daciano da Costa Award 2015, and others.

Fernando Moreira da Silva

Full Professor in Design, Lisbon School of Architecture (FA_ULisboa); PhD and Master by the University of Salford, in Built Environment, and PhD by the Technical University of Lisbon, in Architecture, specialty in Visual Communication; Post-doctorate from Salford University in Visual Communication Design, Inclusive Design and Colour; Aggregation in Design. President of CIAUD - Research Centre for Architecture, Urbanism and Design, since 2009. Coordinator of the PhD degree in Design at FA_ULisboa since 2006. Coordinator and member of the FCT panel to award PhD grants in Design, Architecture and Urbanism, since 2008; international evaluator of CnPq, Brazil, for international research projects; regular participation in national and international universities, area of Design and Research; member of Scientific Commissions of international scientific journals; coordination and participation in research projects; regular publications in peer-reviewed scientific journals, several book chapters and three books.

Lia Krucken 

Lia Krucken is a Design and Visual Arts professor and conducts workshops and collaborative design practices, with a focus on valuing local resources and cultures. She has a post-doctorate in Design, from the Polytechnic of Milan, Italy (2011), and in Contemporary Art, from the University of Coimbra, Portugal (2019). She collaborates with universities and research institutions in the areas of art and design in Brazil, Portugal, Italy and Germany, since 2003. She also integrates “Insurgências Collective”, in Berlin, which proposes socially engaged projects. She is a visiting professor at the Postgraduate Program in Visual Arts at the Federal University of Bahia in Salvador, Brazil with support from PNPD-CAPES.

Anna Meroni

Anna is Professor of Design in the School of Design of the Politecnico di Milano. PhD in Design, her research focuses on service and strategic design for sustainability to foster social innovation, participation and place development. She has been co-founder of the POLIMI-DESIS Lab, the Milan based research laboratory of the DESIS-Design for Social Innovation and Sustainability Network. With specific expertise in co-design methods and tools, she originated the concept of community-centred design and works transversally on new entrepreneurship, public services and responsible research and innovation. Since 2016 she is the head of the international Master of Science in Product Service System Design, at the School of Design of Politecnico di Milano.

Scientific Program

The Scientific Program is organized in the following areas:


General and Detailed Programme

General Programme Detailed Programme



1st Call for Abstracts

31st October 2020

Notification of Acceptance/Rejection

15th December 2020

2nd Call for Abstracts

28th February 2021

Notification of Acceptance/Rejection

31st March 2021

Final Call for Abstracts (Extended Deadline)

30th May 2021

Notification of Acceptance/Rejection

15th June 2021

Full Paper Submission Deadline

31st May 2021

Full Paper Submission Deadline (Abstracts from Final Call)

15th July 2021

Registration deadline for authors (reduced fee)

until 15th July 2021

Registration deadline for authors (regular fee)

from 1st July to 30th September 2021

Conference Dates (6th CIDAG)

20th-22nd October 2021


Papers Submission

Best papers eligible for publication in Revista Convergências.



Registration and Payments

Click here to access information regarding Registration and Payments


Scientific Commitee

Ana Pereira Neto - ISEC Lisboa (PT)
Ana Margarida Pires Fernandes (PT)
Anastasios Politis - West Attica and Hellenic Open University (GR)
António Celso Collaro - CNI - Confederação Nacional da Indústria (BR)
António Sousa Dias - Faculdade Belas Artes Universidade de Lisboa (PT)
Daniel Raposo - Instituto Politécnico de Castelo Branco (PT)
David Bota - Elisava Barcelona (ES)
Fernando Coelho - ISEC Lisboa (PT)
Fernando Moreira da Silva - Faculdade de Arquitetura da Universidade de Lisboa (PT)
Gonçalo Falcão - Faculdade Arquitetura Universidade Lisboa (PT)
Helena Barbosa - Universidade Aveiro (PT)
João Vasco Neves (PT)
Jorge Brandão Pereira - Escola Superior de Design, IPCA(PT)
Jorge dos Reis - Faculdade de Belas Artes Universidade de Lisboa (PT)
José Manuel Martínez Bouza - Salesians Sarrià Barcelona (ES)
Luíza Novaes - Pontifícia Universidade Católica Rio Janeiro (BR)v Luk Bouters - Artevelde Hogeschool (BE)
Maria Cadarso - IADE - Universidade Europeia (PT)
Nicolò Ceccarelli - Università degli Studi di Sassari (IT)
Pedro Amado - (PT)
Pedro Oliveira - Universidade Europeia (PT)
Rafael Pozo - ISEC Lisboa (PT)
Rui Sebrosa - Editorial do Ministério da Educação (PT)
Tobias Trofast - Linkoping University (SE)
Vitor Pedro - ISEC Lisboa (PT)
Vitor Quelhas - ESMAD, Instituto Politécnico do Porto (PT)


Organizing Commitee

Cristina Ventura - ISEC Lisboa
Tânia Carraquico - ISEC Lisboa
Eduardo Cruz - ISEC Lisboa
Rafael Pozo Puértolas - ISEC Lisboa Elisava
Mónica Lameiro - ISEC Lisboa
Arnaldo Costeira - ISEC Lisboa
Catarina dos Santos Henriques - ISEC Lisboa
Daniela Henriques Fonseca - ISEC Lisboa
Maria João Bom - IPT
Miguel Sanches - IPT





(+351) 217 541 310

On-line Registration and Payment >

Click here to go to CIDAG´s online registration